Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
6 month in japan
5 mai 2007

Arrival in Narita

I had a fine flight from Munich to London and then Narita, Japan. Quite long, but if you do the internet check in of British Airways you can have any seat, mine was in the front with plenty of room for my legs. Not bad for 670 euros there and back again.
I arrived in Narita, I already had my Visa for an internship, pretty easy as I'm student, it took only 1/4h pass the controle.
The first problem happened when I got out, theoretically there should be someone of Bosch, my enterprise, and show me the way to the enterprise. Well no way, later I got out that there was a communication problem. He had been there the day of my departure in Munich, not of my arrival the next day. I waited an hour, finally I tried to find my way, first to the station.
It's quite fun to ask someone in Tokyo for the way. I had learned japanese for two years, it's enough to know how japanese works, but not enough to speak. Whenever you ask a japanese if he speaks german, he just makes a sign with his fingers to say "only a little bit".
I think the woman selling tickets only understood the name "Funabashi" of the town I wanted to go, but she pointed to the entrance of the subway.
Next thing to do was to buy a ticket. I tried, "Funabashi" still worked and I got a ticket and went down. The plan of the Tokyo underground isn't easy, especially because most of them are exclusively in japanese. Even knowing hiragana, katakana and some kanji it's impossible to find your way, but some signs contain english names. I took the first train with direction Funabashi, called "Skyrails". Well, in fact you need a special ticket to take this train. But when the conductor asked me, I only started to speak english. As he evidently didn't understand any english, he just gave up to ask after some time, having seen my ticket. I was happy about that...
Some time later he came back, very polite, passed me a plan of the line and canceled my ticket. I think that would have processed differently in any other country... I got out at Funabashi station, just passing the control without being asked. I think that's not normal even in Japan, but I was happy about it.
Next I had to go to the company. First I tried to phone from one of those green public telephones everywhere in Japan, working with 100 yen coins.
As the person who answered in the enterprise didn't seem to be comfortable in english, he just counceled me to get a cab to go to the enterprise instead of describing the way, and it would have been difficult in fact to go there on my own.
The first cab driver I showed the address knew neither the address, neither english. But he asked a female driver, speaking at least a bit.
Addresses are special in Japan, all is made in blocs, only the post does understand which address belongs to which house. The trick she used was to phone my enterprise and to ask for the way. 1400 yen later I arrived there, being lucky that there was a german worker although it was the "golden week".

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
6 month in japan
Publicité
Albums Photos
Publicité